How are members elected to Lok Sabha?

How are members elected to Lok Sabha?

The Lok Sabha, India’s lower house of Parliament, is composed of representatives chosen directly by the people through General Elections. Here are the key points on how members are elected to the Lok Sabha:

1. Universal Adult Suffrage:

  • Lok Sabha members are elected based on universal adult suffrage. This means that every Indian citizen above the age of 18 years has the right to vote.

2. Maximum Seats:

  • The Constitution of India allows for a maximum of 550 members in the Lok Sabha. Out of these, 530 members represent the States, and 20 members represent the Union Territories.

3. Distribution of Seats:

  • States: The seats are distributed among the states based on the proportion between the number of seats allotted to each state and its population. This ensures a fair representation.
  • Union Territories: Union Territories also have their allocated seats.
  • Anglo-Indian Community: Additionally, 2 members are nominated by the President from the Anglo-Indian community.

4. Forming the Central Government:

  • To form the Central Government, a party needs a minimum of 272 MPs (Members of Parliament).
  • If a party doesn’t have 272 MPs on its own, it can collaborate with other parties to form the government.

5. Eligibility Criteria for Lok Sabha Election:

  • According to Article 84 of the Indian Constitution, a candidate must meet the following criteria to become a member of the Lok Sabha:
  • Be a citizen of India.
  • Be at least 25 years old.
  • Not hold an office of profit under the Indian government or any other state government.
  • Not have an unstable mind.
  • Not disobey party discipline.

6. Voting Eligibility:

  • Any Indian citizen above 18 years can register as a voter and is eligible to vote.
  • Eligible voters must register in the constituency where they reside.
  • A voter ID card is necessary for voting.

7. Lok Sabha Tenure:

  • The Lok Sabha’s tenure is five years, after which it dissolves.
  • In emergencies, this period may be extended by Parliament.

8. Leadership:

  • The Lok Sabha has its own speaker, deputy speaker, and leader of the house.
  • Currently, the speaker is Sumitra Mahajan, the deputy speaker is M. Thambidurai, and the leader of the house is Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

9. Historical Context:

  • The first Lok Sabha was constituted after the first General Election in 1951-1952.

Remember, the Lok Sabha represents the diverse voices of the Indian people, and each member plays a crucial role in shaping the nation’s destiny.

How many seats are there in the Lok Sabha?

The Lok Sabha, which is the lower house of the Parliament of India, currently comprises 543 seats filled by elected representatives. These members represent various geographic constituencies across the country. Additionally, there are 2 members from the Anglo-Indian community, who are nominated by the President of India. The total strength of the Lok Sabha can go up to 550 seats, but currently, it stands at 543 elected members and 2 nominated members. The quorum for the House is 10% of the total membership, and unless sooner dissolved, the Lok Sabha operates for five years from the date appointed for its first meeting.


Related Articles

1 Comment

Avarage Rating:
  • 0 / 10

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *